• These forums are for "after booking" trip communications, socializing, and/or trip questions ONLY.
  • You will NOT be able to book a trip, buy add-ons, or manage your trip by logging in here. Please login HERE to do any of those things.

Photo

Rebreather Myths

• Please log in to reply
93 replies to this topic

#1 ScubaDadMiami

ScubaDadMiami

I spend too much time on line

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,022 posts
  • Cert Level:Course Director; CCR Instructor
  • Logged Dives:2000+

Posted 29 June 2008 - 10:42 PM

Even if you don't want to face it, rebreathers are here, and they are the future of diving. There are new rebreathers coming to market all the time now, and it is getting to the point where they are almost commonplace. Many dive shops and boats that do not cater to rebreather and technical divers are going to lose business. Times change, and it is time to get with the program.

Being a CCR instructor, I sometimes can't believe some of the untrue myths that are circulated about "how dangerous" rebreathers are. So, in the interest of truth, this is your chance to ask any questions you have about these machines, and I will do my best to let you know about the pros and cons.

I'll start off with the first one:

"I keep hearing about people getting killed on rebreathers. There must be something to all of the talk that I hear about how dangerous they are."

Have you ever heard reports of skilled divers that jump into the water with their tanks turned off, no fins on, and they die after sinking like a rock to the bottom? So, does that make standard SCUBA equipment so dangerous that nobody should be allowed to use it? Even one death is too many. However, the cause of the death should be looked at more closely before automatically blaming a CCR accident on rebreather technology.