• These forums are for "after booking" trip communications, socializing, and/or trip questions ONLY.
  • You will NOT be able to book a trip, buy add-ons, or manage your trip by logging in here. Please login HERE to do any of those things.

Photo

School & Life Supplies on diving trips for disadvantaged kids

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 drifter

drifter

Meeting folks

• PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Cert Level:Advanced Open Water
  • Logged Dives:50

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:23 PM

Last year, I joined in on the Cozumel trip and discovered one of the "secret little projects" that Kamala and company have started that I really thought was outstanding. Everyone on the trip brought along school supplies to donate to a local orphanage or foster home school. I think this is a brilliant project that really struck a chord with me. Being a teacher, I love helping kids get ahead in their education.

I happened upon a great freebie today that will go into the pile for this project and I encourage everyone else to keep your eyes and ears open for stuff like this that will help out.

Last fall one of the departments on campus held a conference and they purchased a bunch of book bags for the attendees. Due to mass production issues, they had to order a minimum quantity and have ever since been trying to hock them to students wandering up and down the hallway. They'd dropped the price to $2 a bag and so I stopped in and told the professor in charge of them what we do and asked if she'd be interested in getting rid of the rest of her bags. She handed me a box of 40 and asked me to check back in a couple weeks as she had a few students who might like having them for free. I'm shipping them off to Kamala tomorrow to take on future trips except for a batch that I'll bring along on my next Single Diver's trip.