• These forums are for "after booking" trip communications, socializing, and/or trip questions ONLY.
  • You will NOT be able to book a trip, buy add-ons, or manage your trip by logging in here. Please login HERE to do any of those things.

Photo

What steps do I take to become a cave diver?

• Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#1 scubahoney

scubahoney

I spend too much time on line

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,050 posts
  • Cert Level:AOW
  • Logged Dives:20ish

Posted 05 May 2004 - 11:35 PM

I am studying marine biology and possibly biospeleology (say that 5 times fast)/cave biology. I am hoping to study biology and behavior in anchialine caves and blue holes in the future. Could someone please tell me what route to take to get my booty in the right direction (as far as getting the diving experience I need)? I know I need the certs and all, but how do I get what I really need to know (on top of the classes)?
The greatest resource of the ocean is not material but the boundless spring of inspiration and well-being we gain from her.
~Jacques Cousteau

#2 drbill

drbill

• SD Partners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,486 posts
  • Cert Level:Rescue
  • Logged Dives:who's counting, definitely four digits

Posted 06 May 2004 - 12:14 AM

I'm impressed! Can't offer any advice here since my biological research involves satellite imaging of kelp beds and integration of the resulting maps into a GIS to study persistence. That's about as far from caves as you can get (and I like it that way).

Good luck with your studies... interesting focus.

Dr. Bill

#3 Walter

Walter

I need to get a life

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,549 posts
  • Cert Level:Instructor
  • Logged Dives:4 digits

Posted 06 May 2004 - 04:42 AM

First, decide if you really want to dive caves. Read Down to a Sunless Sea by David Poyer. If that doesn't freak you out, go for it.