• These forums are for "after booking" trip communications, socializing, and/or trip questions ONLY.
  • You will NOT be able to book a trip, buy add-ons, or manage your trip by logging in here. Please login HERE to do any of those things.

YMCA Scuba program ending this year

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_PlatypusMan_*

Guest_PlatypusMan_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 August 2008 - 07:44 PM

According to THIS LINK, the YMCA Scuba program is ending after this year.

Anyone have any thoughts or remembrances of the Y program?

PPM

#2 JimG

JimG

People are starting to get to know me

• PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Cert Level:Instructor Trainer
  • Logged Dives:Not enough!

Posted 19 August 2008 - 07:55 PM

I have been a YSCUBA instructor for almost 15 years - don't write the program off just yet. The only thing we know for sure is that effective Jan 1, 2009, YMCA of the USA is withdrawing its sponsorship of a YMCA-branded SCUBA certification program. There is an effort underway to spin the program off as an independent operating entity, with its own leadership and oversight. This will be a Good Thing, and I am optimistic that the necessary agreements can be worked out with YUSA to transfer ownership of the program.

Many of us are still passionate about YSCUBA, and are anxious to see the program continue in some form or fashion. Hopefully we will know something definite by the time DEMA rolls around this year.

-JimG
Will DIR for food!

#3 peterbj7

peterbj7

I spend too much time on line

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,068 posts
  • Cert Level:Instructor
  • Logged Dives:over 4000

Posted 19 August 2008 - 10:08 PM

I for one sincerely hope a way will be found to continue it. I have no first-hand experience of it, but its reputation is unassailed and there has been way too much "dunning down" in the scuba certification industry.

#4 justscuba

justscuba

• PipPipPipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Cert Level:MSDT, EFR INST,HSAI