• These forums are for "after booking" trip communications, socializing, and/or trip questions ONLY.
  • You will NOT be able to book a trip, buy add-ons, or manage your trip by logging in here. Please login HERE to do any of those things.

Photo

Non-metal belt buckle for travel help

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Moose

Moose

Everyone knows me

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 765 posts
  • Cert Level:Numerous
  • Logged Dives:Fg = (m x D) m10^-2

Posted 23 October 2009 - 08:30 AM

OK, I travel ALOT for a living. One of the things I HATE to do is remove my belt when I go through a metal detector. For years I have been searching for a non-metal belt buckle, but I can't find one.

Does anyone here know of any link for one? Or better yet, how I could make something like that? Thanks in advance.

(BTW, I just got back from New Orleans and will be back there in a week or so. Any SD’ers here in that area?)
Moose
Everything I know about knots, I learned from Alexander the Great.

#2 UP Diver

UP Diver

Meeting folks

• PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Board Status:Occasionally lurking on and off the board...
  • Cert Level:AOW
  • Logged Dives:>150

Posted 23 October 2009 - 10:36 AM

Moose -

The belt-less approach, as it was explained to me as I stood by holding my pants up with my hand, was to eliminate the metal belt buckle from the search. We all know the zipper and the fastener are metal and MAY make the buzzer sound, depending on the equipment at the TSA station. By making everyone go through sans belt there is a lowered chance of metal detection and less delay for the "usual' traveler.

Of course, those of us who have been residual warriors (athletic, military, general stupidity warriors) what have implanted metal pins, plates, screws, joints will get the full house search regardless of a belted or beltless security gate!